IAEA Council: 37 Countries Called on Russia to Return The Zaporizhzhya NPP Under The Control of Ukraine


At the IAEA, 37 EU member states and ten more countries called on Russia to withdraw its military and equipment, as well as Rosatom personnel, from the Zaporozhye nuclear power plant and return it to the full control of Ukraine.

This is stated in the EU statement on nuclear safety, security and safeguards in Ukraine, announced at a meeting of the IAEA Board of Directors.

“The European Union and its members will never recognize Russia’s attempt to illegally seize the ZNPP. We strongly urge Russia to withdraw its military equipment and all personnel, including Rosatom personnel, from the ZNPP and return it under full control to its rightful owner, Ukraine,” the statement says. statement.

Zaporozhye NPP, Kuleba, IAEA mission
Zaporozhye NPP

In addition to EU members and Ukraine, North Macedonia, Montenegro, Albania, Moldova, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway joined it.Play Video

“There have been many near-disaster incidents. A nuclear accident with all its radiological consequences has so far been averted, in large part thanks to the resilience and dedication of Ukrainian operational personnel. The Russian Federation must stop pressure on Ukrainian personnel. They are working in ever smaller numbers and under conditions high stress in order to maintain the safety and security of ZNPP,” the statement reads.

The EU confirmed that it fully supports the work of the IAEA in providing assistance to Ukraine in the field of nuclear safety and the implementation of safeguards and emphasizes the importance of the agency’s continued presence at all nuclear facilities in our country.

“We also continue to support the efforts of the Director General of the IAEA to reach an agreement on the creation of a nuclear and physical security zone around the Zaporizhzhya NPP with full respect for the sovereignty of Ukraine,” the document says.

Source: HVILYA